Skip to Content

The Difference Between Ignore & Block on Snapchat

The Difference Between Ignore & Block on Snapchat

Snapchat is one of the best inventions, when it first launched people went crazy over it, as it was a great App to put stories of your day and keep your friends and family updated. The “story” feature idea was so great that Instagram decided to launch its own Snapchat-inspired story feature in 2016. Snapchat has many features that none of the social media apps had, however, every App has launched its own inspired feature.

Snapchat is branded as an American multimedia instant messaging app that was created by Snap Inc. As of July 2021, Snapchat has about 293 million active users every day which was a 23% of growth over a year. Furthermore, at least four billion snaps are sent daily, moreover, Snapchat is primarily used by teenagers.

Snapchat has several interesting features, such as the messages will be vanished as soon as the recipients will see the messages, however now there is an option of saving a text or picture in chat. Another feature is that “Stories” will only last for 24 hours, moreover the users can keep their photos in the “my eyes only”, which is a password-protected storage space.

There is a fun feature that lets you know what kind of friendship you have with a user. It can be seen by going into someone’s chat and tapping their icon, there when you scroll down you will see titles like BFs or BFF. It ranges from “Super BFF” to “BFs”, depending on how much you have been in touch with this person.

Two of the many features which can be found on many other Apps are blocked and ignored. We all know what happens when you block someone or someone blocks you, however, what does “ignore” means?

Well, ignoring someone on Snapchat means, ignoring a friend’s request, meaning when someone sends you a friend’s request you have an option to decline the request, but the person sending the request wouldn’t know that his/her request has been declined. By blocking, the person you have blocked wouldn’t be able to search your name.

The ignore feature is really a subtle way of blocking someone, which comes in handy as you can avoid the conversation about why you blocked them.

Keep reading to know more.

What does ignored mean on Snapchat?

the snapchat app
Ignore feature was a huge part of Snapchat and still, none of the other apps have this feature.

Not everyone wants to add every person on their Snapchat, as everyone posts their life on their stories which some people might not want to show to certain people. “Ignore” is the best option for that because when you ignore someone you are basically deleting their friend’s request without them knowing.

Snapchat was the first app to ever include such interesting features, and it still hasn’t changed because evidently, people use it quite a lot.

Ignoring someone is the same as blocking someone, but when you block someone, it’s very likely that they would find out that you have blocked them as they will not be able to search you. Thus to avoid that, you can ignore them because then it would appear to them that they are still on your friend’s request list but in reality, they aren’t.

Here is how you can ignore a friend’s request:

  • Tap the Profile icon to go to your Profile.
  • Next tap ‘Add Friends’.
  • Tap the symbol ✖️ which can be found next to the Snapchatter in the ‘Added Me’ section.
  • Lastly, tap “ignore”.

If you want to know, who and how many friend requests you have ignored, thus here is a video for that.

How to use the ignore feature on Snapchat

What happens when you block someone on Snapchat?

When you block someone on Snapchat, they won’t be able to see your profile, view your story, and chat/snap with you. Furthermore, they will no longer be able to search your username.

Blocking someone is a way of saying that they aren’t welcome in one’s social media life, people block whoever and whenever they want because there aren’t any restrictions.

Every app has a block option because it’s necessary as most people can cross lines that one doesn’t like.

How do you know if you have been ignored on Snapchat?

There aren’t many ways to know if you have been ignored on Snapchat, and if you could know if you have been ignored then there isn’t any point in adding such a feature. Another thing about ignoring a friend’s request is that it will appear to them that their request is still in your add friend’s list which is, of course, not true as they have been ignored. To conclude, there is no way of knowing if you have been ignored on Snapchat by someone unless you straight up ask them.

Blocking is very obvious and that can be known, if you already are a friend then you can know by seeing their Snapchat score or searching for their username, if you can’t see their score and search for their username, then it means that you have been blocked.

Here are some differences between the “block” and “ignore” features on Snapchat.

BlockIgnore
Block feature is on every AppIgnore feature is on Snapchat only
You can know if someone has blocked you by searching their usernameYou can’t know if someone has ignored you
By blocking, they won’t be notified, but at some point, they would know that they have been blocked by youBy ignoring, they won’t know if you have ignored them as there isn’t any notification for that
Blocking is a harsh way of conveying a message that they aren’t wantedIgnoring is a subtle way of avoiding a conversation about why you haven’t accepted their friend’s request
Block VS Ignore

Do people know when you block them on Snapchat?

a person using Snapchat
You can block anyone, whenever, and how many times you want.

If you block someone, then they will know that they are blocked, however, they won’t be notified of that. The way that they would know is by searching your username and not being able to chat.

Blocking is a harsh way of conveying a message that they are no longer needed or wanted.

Blocking can be done as many times as you want on Snapchat, unlike on Facebook. If you have blocked someone on Facebook and unblocked them, and if you want to block them again, then you won’t be able to, because Facebook gives you 14 days when you unblock, meaning after unblocking someone you will be able to block them again in 14 days.

Yes, people can know if they have been blocked because that’s what blocking means, to let the person know that they aren’t needed or wanted anymore.

To Conclude

a phone with the apps Snapchat, Instagram, Whatsapp, and Youtube on it
Snapchat has many features.
  • Snapchat is an American multimedia instant messaging app created by Snap Inc.
  • Statistics of July 2021 say Snapchat is used by 293 million users daily.
  • On Snapchat messages will be vanished as soon as the recipients will see them, however now you can change that by going to the “chat setting”.
  • Stories last for 24 hours, however, you can create highlights now.
  • There is a “my eyes only” space where users can keep their photos and it is a password-protected storage space.
  • Ignoring on Snapchat means, ignoring a friend’s request, without them knowing.
  • If you block someone, they would know.
  • By blocking, they won’t be able to see your profile, view your story, and chat/snap with you as well as won’t be able to find you by searching your username.
  • You can block someone as many times as you want on Snapchat.
  • After unblocking someone, Facebook provides you 14 days to block them again.
  • The person won’t be notified when you block or ignore them.

Other Articles